- Established
2004 — firm founded.
- Published check size
$1M–$2M seed investments, described in a January 2020 partner interview. Historical range; a current fixed range was not verified.
- The record behind the name
Khosla partner Alex Morgan publicly celebrated Clair’s raise. His post supplies enthusiasm and no device-validation results. An impressive endorsement. The measurements needed to substantiate the promise are still missing from it.
Read the endorsement analysis →
FOLLOW THE MONEY
A cap table
is not a clinical trial.
Clair raised $11.6 million. The money is real. The completed production-device study is still missing from this record. I followed the backers, the endorsements, and the claims they helped sell.
THE ANNOUNCED ROUND
$11.6M
Seed round announced June 17, 2026
- Lead investor
- Khosla Ventures
Wilson Sonsini confirms the round. Individual checks, ownership percentages and the earlier pre-seed amount remain undisclosed in these sources.
Clair’s funding announcements read like an invitation to stop asking questions. Khosla. a16z. Stanford founders. Very impressive. Now publish the finished bracelet’s hormone measurements against reference assays.
Several backers did more than invest. They promoted the founders’ credentials, repeated the product claims, and helped turn expressions of interest into fundraising material. I followed their own announcements. The names get bigger. The missing proof does not disappear.
THE DOCUMENTED PROGRESSION
They wrote checks.
The device still needs proof.
First check · investor account
First came the demand story.
Treehub names Clair as an initial investment. Partner Derek Minno says it helped develop the LOI/MOU strategy before later financings. By its own account, this backer helped build the pitch.
Pre-seed · investor disclosure
Reach and a16z co-lead.
Reach names a16z speedrun as its pre-seed co-lead. Its separate investment essay is dated February 4, 2026. The names are public. The check amounts are not.
June 17, 2026 · announced seed
Khosla’s name tops the seed.
Wilson Sonsini identifies Khosla as lead and names seven other participants. Several backers were already involved. Khosla did not start the story. It put its name at the top of the seed announcement.
THE NAMES BEHIND THE ROUND
Who backed the pitch?
Nine named backers. Read what each name actually represents: when it began, the checks it advertises, and the record behind the name. These ranges and program offers are not Clair allocations. Historical figures are dated. Reach is documented at pre-seed; transaction counsel names the other eight in the June seed.
- Established
2023 — speedrun program launched.
- Published check size
Up to $1M under published program terms: $500K for 10% upfront through a SAFE, plus $500K in the next round within 18 months. These are program terms, not confirmed Clair terms.
- The record behind the name
Speedrun has not earned Y Combinator’s track record. It launched in 2023. YC has been operating since 2005, with alumni including Dropbox and Airbnb reaching public markets. Speedrun’s much younger record does not carry that depth of proven outcomes. I do not give its badge the same credibility. Speedrun does have an exit: Greenhouse acquired its portfolio company Ezra AI Labs in May 2026. That is a real outcome. It does not establish a YC-scale history of breakout companies. Clair does not get to turn a place in a young accelerator into a scientific quality seal. Show the bracelet’s results.
- Established
2015 — independent firm founded; its founders’ earlier NewSchools Seed fund began in 2011.
- Published check size
Typically $100K at pre-seed to more than $12M at later stages, according to its investment FAQ. This spans different stages, not one standard seed check.
- The record behind the name
Reach promotes Agarwal’s earlier glucose-monitoring work as a breakthrough credential. Its essay supplies neither the validation behind that credential nor a hormone-specific error table for Clair. The résumé gets another endorsement. I followed the credential back to Argus.
Follow the credential back to Argus →
- Established
2026 — Treehub announced its launch on April 22, with an inaugural spring cohort.
- Published check size
Up to $150K for selected teams, advertised in its fall residency introduction. This is a program ceiling, not a disclosed Clair check.
- The record behind the name
Treehub’s launch announcement named Anne Wojcicki as an operating partner. AI Health Fund lists Roxana Daneshjou, whom Clair names as a scientific adviser. The investor and adviser circles overlap. Putting the same network on two pages does not produce two independent checks. Wojcicki’s 23andMe record is below.
Read the 23andMe record →
- Established
Active by May 24, 2023, when its own event listing records a gathering. Exact founding year not verified.
- Published check size
$1K–$50K per check, advertised for its angel-member investing model. This does not cap the members’ combined investment in a company at $50K.
- The record behind the name
Brydge repeats Clair’s claim to the first noninvasive continuous hormone monitor and highlights investing alongside a16z and Khosla. The prestigious names are prominent. A product-validation study is absent from the listing. The claim has found another promoter, not another experiment.
- Established
2023 — founded by CiCi Bellis.
- Published check size
Fund I averaged $500K; Fund II planned $1M–$2M checks, according to February 2025 reporting. These are dated strategy figures, not a confirmed Clair allocation.
- The record behind the name
Cartan told Sports Business Journal it preferred co-investing with established firms to leading rounds. CiCi Bellis said it performs its own diligence and cross-checks with lead investors. Bellis describes a process. The interview does not establish what Cartan reviewed for Clair. Adding another fund to the round does not add another validation study. Show the device results behind the collective confidence.
- Established
2023 — Rocky Yu launched AGI House in Hillsborough, California, according to its own history.
- Published check size
Up to $1M, advertised by AGI House Ventures. Published ceiling; the amount invested in Clair is undisclosed.
- The record behind the name
A September 2026 New York Times investigation reported 37 police incidents at the Hillsborough property since 2022, including at least 17 party or event complaints. One woman told police a male resident pressured her for sex; she escaped over a gate. Manager Rocky Yu said he was unaware of the police reports and declined questions. In court filings, he said he had tried to curb partying. This is the reported record behind the networking address. The woman’s account is an allegation, not an adjudicated sexual-assault finding. It does not implicate Clair’s founders.
Read the New York Times investigation (opens in a new tab)
- Established
2025 — its UK adviser was incorporated on February 18. The fund’s exact launch year was not verified.
- Published check size
Not publicly disclosed in the firm pages reviewed. Total funding-round sizes reported elsewhere are not the size of this investor’s checks.
- The record behind the name
FACEIT operators Niccolo Maisto and Michele Attisani founded London-based Insiders, which describes itself as a follower investor. Clair’s Stanford founders already had US backing and Silicon Valley’s venture network on their doorstep. Why reach across the Atlantic for a European follower investor? What did Insiders add beyond another name on the cap table? Show what it independently checked about the bracelet. Its follower label does not disclose its diligence. Another check is not another independent test.
- Established
Individual investor — not a fund. Clair’s counsel names her personally.
- Published check size
Not publicly disclosed in the reviewed financing announcement.
- The record behind the name
Before treating Anne Wojcicki’s name as reassurance, read the 23andMe record. All seven independent directors resigned in September 2024 over strategy and voting control. The company entered Chapter 11 in March 2025 as Wojcicki resigned as CEO. The ICO later fined the company £2.31M for security failures behind its 2023 breach; the regulator said the identified failures were fixed by the end of 2024. Wojcicki-led nonprofit TTAM acquired core businesses for $305M in cash plus assumed liabilities. She now leads the successor research institute. These are company findings and governance events, not a personal fraud finding. I am not accepting the name as a quality seal for Clair.
Read the regulator’s findings (opens in a new tab)
WHO IS MISSING FROM THE LIST
Khosla is not the whole market.
A prominent lead investor does not speak for the entire field. These firms are not named as Clair backers in the pre-seed disclosure and seed announcement reviewed here.
Venture firms
- General Catalyst
- GV
- Lux Capital
- DCVC
- Pear VC
- Floodgate
- Female Founders Fund
- Forerunner
Where other wearable checks went.
- Forerunner → Oura
Forerunner’s April 2022 account says it led Oura’s December 2019 Series B.
- Dexcom → Oura
Dexcom announced a $75 million strategic investment in Oura’s Series D in November 2024. Dexcom is not named in the reviewed Clair funding disclosures.
- Abbott → WHOOP
WHOOP’s March 2026 Series G announcement names Abbott as a strategic investor. Abbott is not named in the reviewed Clair funding disclosures.
a16z is already on Clair’s roster through speedrun. These disclosures identify no separate Bio + Health investment.
01 / FOLLOW THE SEQUENCE
They financed demand. Now prove the device.
We helped develop a strategy to demonstrate market demand (LOIs and MOUs).
Derek Minno, Treehub partner · August 23, 2026
Within six months, according to Minno, a16z and Khosla were investing at higher valuations. An early backer helped organize the demand story; later funding arrived. That is a fundraising strategy. Read it as one.
An LOI can show interest in buying a product if it performs. It cannot show that the product performs. A queue of interested buyers cannot measure a hormone for you.
Open the deck’s commercial slides and ask what was signed, on what conditions, and with what obligation to pay. Then ask for the device results. The deal paperwork cannot do both jobs.
Read the $18 million contracts analysis →02 / THE CREDENTIAL THEY PROMOTED
Reach sold the résumé. I followed it.
previously helped build the world’s first non-invasive continuous glucose monitor
Reach Capital describing Abhinav Agarwal · February 4, 2026
That breakthrough credential is doing a lot of work. I followed it back to Argus, the earlier glucose-monitoring project examined in this investigation. Working on a device and demonstrating that it works are separate achievements. The résumé cannot collapse them into one.
Reach explains Clair’s proposed physiological inference approach. Its essay provides no hormone-specific error table or independent replication. I can read why the investor likes the idea. I still cannot read how accurately the finished bracelet estimates each promised hormone.
Before selling me the sequel, show me what the first device actually delivered. Then publish the results for this one.
Follow the credential back to Argus →03 / COUNT THE RELATIONSHIPS CORRECTLY
The same name is doing double duty.
Clair lists Roxana Daneshjou as a scientific adviser. AI Health Fund lists her on its team and identifies Treehub as its residency. Treehub names Clair among its first investments. Follow the names and the circles meet.
A scientific adviser on one page and a member of the funding network on another do not amount to two independent endorsements. Count the relationship once. Then ask where the independent testing is.
I have not established Daneshjou’s personal ownership, compensation or role in any particular test. I have established the overlap. Clair should identify who independently validated the finished device and publish what they found.
04 / ENTHUSIASM IS EASY TO PUBLISH
Khosla brought an exclamation point.
This is going to be great for all women!
Alex Morgan, Khosla Ventures partner · public LinkedIn post
All women is quite an audience. Morgan’s post does not identify a validation experiment, a held-out cohort or the errors behind a hormone estimate. The confidence is public. The supporting measurements are absent from the post.
Khosla’s biography documents Morgan’s scientific and medical training. I take those qualifications seriously. That is why I want the evidence behind the endorsement, not another reminder of who made it.
Khosla can buy equity. It cannot buy a scientific conclusion. Show what the bracelet measured, how accurately, and in whom.
THE VERDICT / ANALYSIS
A crowded cap table is still not a study.
This is how the pitch borrows credibility. One backer’s name reassures the next reader. An accelerator profile lends weight to the commercial claims. The growing list starts to look like independent confirmation. I am counting experiments. A longer guest list does not help.
I have not seen the private diligence files. I cannot establish whether any investor skipped the work or copied another fund’s decision. I can show what they promoted in public.
The demand is simple. Identify who tested the finished bracelet, the reference measurements, the errors and the failures. Make the evidence behind the public confidence available for inspection. Announcing more money will not answer those questions.
The funding is real. The completed validation study of the production bracelet is still missing from this record. Money buys Clair the chance to prove its promise. It does not entitle Clair to sell the proof as finished.
THE QUESTIONS THE MONEY DOES NOT ANSWER
Show the work.
- What exact production-device results did you review before backing Clair, and which public claims do they substantiate?
- Who independently checked the paired reference-hormone measurements, held-out participants, errors for each hormone and failed measurements?
- Which agreements support the commercial headlines? Publish the payment, cancellation and performance conditions.
- Which scientific advisers have financial interests, and what part did they play in evaluating the evidence?